The ACM - IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award is awarded annually and recognizes substantial contributions to programmability and productivity in computing and substantial community service or mentoring contributions. The award includes a $5,000 honorarium. The recipient will give a presentation, normally technical, at the SC conference at which it is announced, or at an ACM or IEEE conference of the winner's choosing during the year following the announcement.

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Professor to Receive ACM/IEEE-CS Kennedy Award

William D. Gropp has been awarded the 2016 ACM/IEEE-Computer Society Ken Kennedy Award “for highly influential contributions to the programmability of high-performance parallel and distributed computers, and extraordinary service to the profession.”  The award will be presented at SC16  November 15th, in Salt Lake City, UT.

Press release

UC Berkeley Lab’s Yelick Lauded for Advances in Programmability of High Performance Computing Systems

Katherine Yelick has been awarded the 2015 ACM/IEEE Computer Society Ken Kennedy Award for innovative research contributions to parallel computing languages that have been used in both the research community and in production environments. She was also cited for her strategic leadership of the national research laboratories and for developing novel educational and mentoring tools. The award will be presented at SC 15: International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis November 17, in Austin, TX.

Press release